Flexnavet › WikiWiki ›Effekthandel Väst
Flexnavet
BläddraBrowse

Effekthandel Väst

Entity Updated 2026-10-10

Its most distinctive resource type isn't batteries or EVs — it's supermarket and warehouse fridges and freezers, selected as a Nordic Energy Research case study specifically because their spatial distribution matches where DSO congestion actually occurs, with a modest estimated national potential (~75 MW).

In March 2025, four Volvo Cars EVs delivered a first V2G activation to Göteborg's local DSO flexibility market — only 111 kWh across 2 activations, genuinely small in scale, but proof that the technical pathway from V2G-capable vehicle to local market activation works end-to-end under real conditions.

Active since — V2021/22 (6th season, V2026/27)Platform — NODESFridges/freezers national potential — ~75 MW

A local Flexibility Market in the Gothenburg area, operated jointly by Göteborg Energi Elnät AB (GENAB) and Mölndal Energi Elnät AB (MENAB). One of three active Swedish local flexibility markets as of 2025 (alongside E.ON’s flex markets and Götene Flex). Uses the NODES platform. Sweden’s highest-volume active flexibility market.

Overview

AttributeValue
DSOsGöteborg Energi Elnät AB (GENAB), Mölndal Energi Elnät AB (MENAB)
GeographyGothenburg and Mölndal municipalities, with sub-areas
PlatformNODES (NODES AS, Norwegian company)
Active sinceV2021/22 (first season; launched when early forecasts showed potential capacity shortfall)
StatusOngoing (V2026/27 = 6th season, starts 1 November)
Combined tradeable capacity>70 MW across Göteborg and Mölndal, as of the 2026/27 season kickoff

Geographic areas

From the NODES tenders map (portal.nodesmarket.com/onboarding/tenders, observed May 2026), Effekthandel Väst consists of two distinct geographic polygons:

  • Göteborg (GENAB) constraint area: Eastern Göteborg — the forested lake district east of the city centre (Delsjön/Stora Delsjön area) extending northeast toward the Partille municipal boundary, bounded roughly by the Boråsleden motorway (E20/Rv 40) to the south. The area is predominantly residential eastern suburbs and nature reserve, not central Göteborg.
  • Mölndal (MENAB) constraint area: Mölndal municipality and the area extending east toward Mölnlycke (Härryda municipality), with an irregular western/northern boundary running along the eastern edge of the built-up Göteborg area. The polygon covers Mölndal city and stretches east along the Boråsleden/E6 corridor.

The two constraint areas are geographically adjacent — the Boråsleden ring road forms the rough shared boundary — and together cover the southeastern distribution grid area east and south of Göteborg city centre.

Context

Effekthandel Väst grew out of the Swedish flexibility market wave following CoordiNet. Göteborg is Sweden’s second largest city and one of Sweden’s most congested grid areas — Svenska kraftnät‘s transmission subscription is the primary binding constraint for regional DSOs serving the greater Gothenburg area.

The market’s name translates as “effect/power trading west” — “Effekthandel” emphasizes capacity management (effect/power = MW) rather than energy volume (kWh), reflecting that the primary driver is peak capacity constraint rather than total energy throughput.

Origin confirmed by DNDP: GENAB’s DNDP 2025–2034 states explicitly: “Då tidiga prognoser visade på möjlig kommande kapacitetsbrist startade GENAB säsongen 2021/2022 upp sin lokala flexibilitetsmarknad, Effekthandel Väst.” — the market was launched in season 2021/22 because early capacity forecasts projected a potential shortfall. This confirms the market was purpose-built as a capacity management tool from its inception. (Source - GENAB Nätutvecklingsplan 2025-2034 (2024))

Kapacitetsprogrammet: Effekthandel Väst is one component of GENAB’s broader Kapacitetsprogrammet — a dedicated programme managing all non-wire capacity tools. In the programme’s operational framework (Figur 3), Effekthandel Väst sits in the “Strained mode” (Anstängt läge) layer alongside two other interchangeable tools — increased offtake from the overlying network, and planerbar produktion — not in a strict before/after sequence relative to “grid reconfiguration.” Villkorade avtal sits in a separate “Overload risk” (Risk för överbelastning) layer as the backstop. The DNDP assesses the market as well-suited to short hour-scale shortfalls but assesses that additional tools (particularly planerbar produktion) will be needed as the constraint deepens through 2028–2034. (Source - GENAB Nätutvecklingsplan 2025-2034 (2024)) Update: in November 2025 GENAB stopped applying villkorade avtal, saying the capacity situation had improved, citing a stepwise allocation of 426 MW from the regional grid up to 2035, the growth of Effekthandel Väst and the tariffs. (Source - Göteborg Energi Nät Förbättrat Kapacitetsläge (LinkedIn, 2025))

Capacity bottleneck — DNDP data: Göteborg Energi Nät‘s DNDP 2025–2034 quantifies the need that Effekthandel Väst was purpose-built to address. Area A (Hisingen/harbour) needs 0–100 MW in the next two years, rising to 160–240 MW in 3–10 years (Tabell 7: 170–230 MW at 3–5yr, 160–240 MW at 6–10yr). The DNDP positions Effekthandel Väst as one of the non-wire tools for addressing hour-scale and multi-hour capacity shortfalls in “Strained mode,” alongside overlying-network offtake and planerbar produktion. (Source - GENAB Nätutvecklingsplan 2025-2034 (2024), Source - Göteborg Energi Elektrifieringsrapporten nr 1 (2025))

Platform: NODES

Effekthandel Väst uses NODES, a platform built by NODES AS (registered in Lysaker, Norway). NODES is the only competing platform to SWITCH in the Swedish flexibility market. sthlmflex (now closed) and JämtFlex (closed) also used NODES.

During CoordiNet‘s sthlmflex experiment, the E.ON-built flex tool (the DSO operator interface from SWITCH) was reused alongside NODES as the market tool — demonstrating architectural modularity between the two systems.

Platform updates for the 2026/27 season

Beyond the product changes above, NODES introduced three operational changes ahead of season 6: pre-season testing (October test call-offs against every registered resource, verifying the dispatch/acknowledgement/delivery signal chain before the season starts, across all delivery types); an automated “Zero Baseline” method (selectable directly in portfolio settings, replacing the previous manual per-resource all-zero-value file upload); and address-based resource registration, replacing the requirement to place a resource by exact map coordinates. (Source - Webinar Effekthandel Väst Säsongsuppstart (2026))

Market operations partner (MENAB) — Flexia Consulting

NODES is the platform Effekthandel Väst runs on; day-to-day market development and management on the Mölndal (MENAB) side is contracted to Flexia Consulting, a boutique flexibility-market consultancy founded spring 2024 by Darijan Jelica (CEO; Chalmers → RISE → Sweco, where he built one of Sweden’s first flexibility markets for a local DSO before founding Flexia) and Martin Willbo (co-founder, AI/ML). A testimonial from Mölndal Energi’s Elnätschef Fredrik Lundmark confirms Flexia has been Mölndal’s partner since 2022, when Mölndal’s market launched, and that Flexia “both develops and manages” it. Flexia separately runs Framtidens kontrollrum (“Control Room of the Future”) for Mölndal — a digitalization project exploring a digital twin for Mölndal’s grid, not otherwise documented in the wiki. Flexia’s own services also cover villkorade avtal implementation support and AI/ML-driven automation of flex/villkorat-avtal activation from meter and substation data, though it is not confirmed whether Mölndal uses these specific services beyond core market operations. A later account describes the role precisely as “projektledare för Mölndal Energi” (project leader for Mölndal Energi). See Flexia Consulting for Flexia’s other client engagements (Teknik i Väst/Arvika, Nätkraft Borås, Karlstads Energi). (Source - Flexia Consulting Website (2026), Source - Flexia Consulting LinkedIn (2026))

Products

Effekthandel Väst offers four products (Source - Effekthandel Väst Produkter och MaxUsage (NODES, 2024), Source - Effekthandel Väst Onboarding Info (2025-26), Source - Webinar Effekthandel Väst Säsongsuppstart (2026)):

  • ShortFlex, renamed LFM-E (“fria bud”) — energy activation: an hourly market where the FSP decides per hour whether to submit a sell bid when the DSO posts a buy order, paid only on delivery (no availability fee). As of the 2026/27 season, matching happens at two fixed auction points rather than continuously — “upphandling 1” resolves D-1 09:00, with unmatched bids remaining available for continuous “upphandling 2” up to H-2 before delivery. Minimum bid raised from 0.05 MW to 0.1 MW ahead of the 2026/27 season, aligning with the national standard (previously lower than SWITCH’s 0.1 MWh/h; now the same floor).
  • LongFlex, renamed LFM-P — period/seasonal availability (availability fee + activation fee). Uncertain how the availability price is set. An earlier version of this page said bids compete on availability price, the lowest winning (Model B in the terms of Model A vs B); the onboarding source does not state that and describes LongFlex as pre-contracted ShortFlex bids, while Göteborg Energi’s 2026/27 product page says Göteborg Energi Nät “fastställer ett pris” (sets the price) for availability capacity, paid as a fixed payment per procurement — which reads as a DSO-set price (Model A). The flat ~200–217 SEK availability prices in 2023/24–2024/25 (NODES gives SEK only, not whether per MWh or per MW/h) fit a DSO-set price; the varying 2025/26 prices fit either reading. No source states the model outright, and Mölndal’s practice is not documented. During activation, contracted and free ShortFlex/LFM-E bids compete on activation price. (Source - Göteborg Energi Effekthandel Väst Produkter LFM (2026), Source - NODES Public Market Statistics Sweden (2026), Source - Effekthandel Väst Onboarding Info (2025-26))
  • LFM-H — new for the 2026/27 season, distinct from LFM-P: a shorter-notice availability product reserved week-to-week rather than over a multi-month contract. Reservation announced D-2 09:00; suppliers respond by 18:30 the same day; activation runs D-1 09:00 through H-2. Göteborg Energi piloted it in 2025/26; Mölndal plans its first test this season.
  • MaxUsage — consumption cap (see below).

The rename to LFM-E/LFM-P is explicitly framed (by NODES) as national standardization work, aligning Effekthandel Väst’s product naming with the LFM-p/LFM-h/LFM-e taxonomy already used on the SWITCH side — the platform’s graphical interface changes; existing API integrations keep the old ShortFlex/LongFlex names, unaffected.

All products: min 0.1 MW (raised from 0.05 MW ahead of 2026/27), 1–2 h endurance, Nov–March.

Göteborg Energi’s own 2026/27 product page (fetched 2026-09-24) lists only three products — LFM-e (replacing ShortFlex), LFM-p (replacing LongFlex) and LFM-h — and no longer mentions MaxUsage; whether MaxUsage continues is not stated. Its gate times differ slightly from the webinar account above: LFM-h bids open up to seven days ahead and close 09:30 on D-2 with call-off at 10:00 on D-2, LFM-e auction 1 closes 09:30 on D-1 with call-off at 10:00 on D-1, and auction 2 closes at H-2; an accepted LFM-h bid commits the supplier to a matching LFM-e bid in auction 1 or 2. It does not repeat the 1–2 h endurance or November–March period. It also gives an illustrative season 2025/26 example: a 1 MW resource with high availability earned roughly 180,000–250,000 SEK in availability payment, and the average volume-weighted activation price was about 3,500 SEK/MWh (the DSO’s own figures, not checked against NODES data). (Source - Göteborg Energi Effekthandel Väst Produkter LFM (2026))

Reconciled (June 2026): an earlier reading of the onboarding source mischaracterized ShortFlex as a two-part availability product. The onboarding document itself (Step 5) and Göteborg Energi’s product page agree that ShortFlex/LFM-E is the continuous hourly energy-activation product (paid on delivery, no availability fee) and that LongFlex/LFM-P is the availability product.

MaxUsage product

NODES MaxUsage™ (“a virtual fuse contract”): instead of defining a baseline and measuring deviation, the FSP and the DSO jointly set a ceiling on consumption between fixed clock-times during high-load periods; as long as the FSP stays below the ceiling it is remunerated. No per-event baseline calculation — the product simply enforces an upper bound on the meter, with minimal administration. It was developed by NODES with its DSO partners and FSPs explicitly to widen participation, above all with EV charging in mind, by removing the per-trade administration of active bidding. Trialed at Effekthandel Väst in winter 2023/24. (Source - Effekthandel Väst Produkter och MaxUsage (NODES, 2024)) The platform mechanics behind the “joint setting” — bilateral e-signature by both parties and cron-scheduled activation windows — are detailed at NODES › Product design.

Cases:

  • Renova Miljö AB (waste/sorting): capped at 75 kW between 07:00–10:00 every weekday in January, vs ~300 kW historical consumption in those hours — delaying the morning start of electricity-intensive crushers (critical grid window identified as 06:00–10:00).
  • GoCo Health Innovation City (workplace EV parking via Vattenfall InCharge): limited charging power 08:00–12:00 weekdays, roughly halving output for connected EVs on the coldest days without affecting all-day chargers. The site notes it “currently means no major income for us” — an early signal that the FSP-side business case is modest.

Outcome — reported successful (2023/24): both DSOs judged the trial a success and signalled intent to scale. Mölndal Energi’s CEO noted MaxUsage helped lower load during a record January peak in regional-grid withdrawal. Consistent with this, MaxUsage scaled at Effekthandel Väst, becoming the dominant activation product by volume from December 2024 (see the NODES portal data below). (Source - Effekthandel Väst Produkter och MaxUsage (NODES, 2024))

The reference-drift limitation: the value measurement uses a historical-consumption reference (Renova ~300 kW), which carries an embedded counterfactual. It works cleanly for season 1, but from season 2 onward, if the resource owner has shifted behaviour or invested in energy efficiency, the original reference no longer holds — making delivered flexibility ambiguous. Kinnekulle Energi discontinued MaxUsage for exactly this reason (reference drift), compounded by time-differentiated tariffs making the explicit product redundant. Effekthandel Väst, by contrast, retained and scaled it. The contrast is the empirical case for anchoring caps to a firm contractual level rather than a drifting historical baseline. (Source - Sweco Kartläggning av lokala flexibilitetsmarknader (Ei, 2025), Source - Effekthandel Väst Produkter och MaxUsage (NODES, 2024))

V2G breakthrough (March 2025)

In March 2025, Effekthandel Väst became the site of a first V2G delivery to a local DSO flexibility market (the source reports this as a local/Göteborg first, not a documented global “world’s first”). Four Volvo Cars EVs (department vehicles, V2G-capable bidirectional chargers, tested at Volvo’s Torslanda site) delivered 111 kWh across 2 activations.

This was the conclusion of a direct Göteborg Energi–Volvo Cars pilot, launched autumn 2023 to test how an ordinary villa owner could contribute EV-battery power to the grid; the March 2025 delivery both proved the pathway live and closed out the joint pilot. No aggregator company is named in either the Göteborg Energi source reporting the delivery or Tidningen Energi’s follow-up coverage — a fact worth flagging because an earlier version of this wiki incorrectly credited CheckWatt as the aggregator. That error conflated two unrelated stories in the same Göteborg Energi report: this Volvo Cars pilot, and CheckWatt’s separate aggregation of ~500 stationary batteries (5.5 MW) for Effekthandel Väst. CheckWatt’s own published materials make no V2G/Volvo Cars claim either. See Source - Så Kan V2G Gå Från Projektform Till Marknaden (2025).

Scale context: 111 kWh from 4 vehicles is small. The significance is proof-of-concept — demonstrating that the technical pathway (V2G-capable EV → local flexibility market activation) works end-to-end under real market conditions. Full V2G potential for Sweden is estimated at 5,000 MW by 2030, but faces Svk’s physical address requirement, incomplete ISO 15118 deployment, and immature business models as structural barriers. (Source - Göteborg Energi Elektrifieringsrapporten nr 1 (2025), see Energy Storage › V2G structural barriers)

CheckWatt — the largest aggregated portfolio

CheckWatt is the largest aggregated resource in Effekthandel Väst as of 2025. Its local Göteborg portfolio (Source - Göteborg Energi Elektrifieringsrapporten nr 1 (2025)):

  • ~500 stationary batteries under management (hembatterier and small commercial BESS)
  • ~5.5 MW total capacity (approximately 4.8 + 0.7 MW across portfolio segments)
  • Dual-market strategy: simultaneous participation in Effekthandel Väst (local DSO market) and national Balancing Markets (FCR/aFRR/mFRR via Svenska kraftnät)
  • Resources allocated dynamically between local and national market based on expected revenue at any given time

This local portfolio is a sub-set of CheckWatt’s full Nordic VPP: 15,000+ battery sites / 300+ MW aggregated across Sweden, Finland, Norway, Denmark, and Poland, with 200+ Nordic TSO pre-qualifications (Source - CheckWatt Website (2025-2026)). CheckWatt reports a 2.5× revenue multiplier vs basic price arbitrage in SE3 and 4.0× in Finland, achieved by stacking TSO ancillary services, DSO local flex, and wholesale market participation simultaneously.

This is one of the clearest Swedish examples of value stacking in practice — the same batteries serving both DSO congestion relief and TSO frequency regulation, at both local (Göteborg) and Nordic scale.

Fridges and freezers as a resource type

The Nordic Energy Research 2025-03 study selected Effekthandel Väst as one of its 10 Nordic case studies, focusing specifically on fridges and freezers at supermarkets and warehouses as the primary resource type (alongside batteries and EVs). (Source - Nordic Energy Research 2025-03 Current Utilisation of Flexibility in the Nordics)

Key reasons this resource type is well-matched to the market:

  • Spatial distribution: supermarkets exist throughout urban areas proportional to population density — well-aligned with where DSO grid congestion occurs
  • Control infrastructure: most Swedish supermarket refrigeration uses Modbus/Danfoss control systems; integration does not require new hardware
  • National potential: the report estimates ~75 MW nationally from supermarket fridges/freezers specifically (via an annual consumption-profile calculation), or ~48 MW via a per-supermarket comparison estimate — modest figures. A separately-cited 564 MW figure in the same source is for a broader, different category (residential white goods: household fridges/freezers and washers/dryers), not supermarket refrigeration, and should not be conflated with it.
  • Baseline flexibility: aggregators can negotiate appliance-specific baselines with the platform operator, unlocking profitability not possible under rigid standard baselines

Food hygiene constraint: EU and Swedish food hygiene regulation sets strict temperature limits for refrigerated food. When a fridge or freezer is activated as a flexibility resource, it cannot deliver in situations where reducing power intake would risk exceeding temperature thresholds. In practice, this is managed by pre-cooling (running colder before activation) and fine-tuning the baseline to exclude unsafe states. The constraint creates complexity but does not prevent participation — no deliveries have been cancelled for food safety reasons in Effekthandel Väst. The non-standard baseline negotiation required with NODES is both a barrier (time-intensive, case-by-case) and an enabler (without it, the resource type would not be commercially viable).

Market outcomes

Season-by-season and month-by-month activation, availability, MaxUsage, and NODES-portal data — including the March 2025 world-first V2G detail’s surrounding context, the 140× Göteborg activation growth curve, the winter 2025/26 zone-level compensation comparison, and the full monthly price/volume tables through February 2026 — moved to Effekthandel Väst — Market Data and Season Outcomes (2026-09-05 structural review, split out once the data volume exceeded the narrative content on this page).

Headline figures: Effekthandel Väst is Sweden’s highest-volume active flex market — 7,180 MWh total (all products) in 2024/25, and ~1,746 MWh activated in V2025/26 (ShortFlex + MaxUsage, NODES statistics re-pulled 2026-10-10), on par with all of E.ON’s SWITCH markets combined. See the linked page for the full breakdown.

Comparison with other markets

DimensionEffekthandel VästE.ON SWITCH markets
PlatformNODES (Å Energi-owned)SWITCH (E.ON-owned)
Min bid0.1 MW (raised from 0.05 MW, 2026/27)0.1 MWh/h
Availability pricingUncertain: DSO-set fixed price (Model A) per Göteborg Energi’s 2026/27 page; earlier described as a capacity auction — see ProductsActivation-price ranked
Public dataNone equivalent to switchmarket.seFull public portal
Min bid (activation)100 kW (raised from 50 kW, 2026/27)100 kW
Baseline methods5 approved methods availableMultiple; nomination baseline default
Procurement complianceLOU process used (bid-first auction)LOU-compliant after BeFlexible revision

Data gaps

  • Whether the LFM-p/LFM-h availability price is DSO-set (Model A) or set by competitive availability bids (Model B), and whether Göteborg and Mölndal differ — Göteborg Energi’s page points to DSO-set, nothing states it outright
  • Whether MaxUsage is discontinued or merely omitted from Göteborg Energi’s 2026/27 product page, and how the LFM-h gate times on that page (D-2 09:30 close, 10:00 call-off) relate to the webinar’s D-2 09:00 / 18:30 account
  • Season 5 (V2025/26) FSP count and total cost — activation volume now known (~1,746 MWh ShortFlex + MaxUsage per the NODES public market statistics, re-pulled 2026-10-10; ~1,744 in June 2026); FSP count and settlement cost still not published
  • Why Mölndal’s 2025/26 LongFlex availability prices (384–407 SEK, December 2025–February 2026; NODES does not state whether per MWh or per MW/h) are consistently above Göteborg’s (284–334 SEK) — a pattern that started in December 2025 (the October 2026 NODES data shows no Mölndal LongFlex in November 2025, and only a placeholder-priced ~4 MWh for Göteborg); may reflect higher constraint severity in Mölndal, thinner FSP competition, or different weekly procurement timing by MENAB vs GENAB
  • Whether Göteborg Energi / Mölndal Energi will continue Effekthandel Väst given the NC DR implementation work required — key strategic question for the market’s future
  • Reconcile Göteborg Energi’s own spoken V2025/26 MaxUsage/total activation figures (~605 / ~704 MWh, per a September 2026 season-kickoff webinar) against this page’s portal-sourced figures (1,101 / ~1,216 MWh, NODES statistics re-pulled 2026-10-10) — an ~80% gap, unresolved; worth checking against a future NODES-portal re-pull

Sources

Närliggande sidorNearby pages 24

KonceptConcept EntitetEntity SyntesSynthesis

Klicka på en nod för att gå dit. Dra för att panorera, rulla för att zooma. Click a node to go there. Drag to pan, scroll to zoom.